You Don’t Have to Plead Guilty to DWI
No one expects to be arrested for a DWI until it happens. When you are facing a DWI charge, a qualified attorney can help you minimize the consequences. get the charges dismissed or try the case for you.
New Jersey does not allow plea bargaining in DWI cases — that is why an experienced trial lawyer is your best bet for achieving the best outcome. I am Robert A. Jones, a DWI defense attorney in Essex County and I am dedicated to helping my clients avoid harsh penalties for DWI offenses. I will sit down with you to discuss the details of your case and figure out whether the police had probable cause to pull you over and whether or not they followed proper procedures. We bring in experts to help challenge the prosecution’s case.
Fighting the License Suspension and Other Penalties
If your blood alcohol level is determined to be at .08 or .09 percent, you may lose your license for three months, even if this is your first offense. If your blood alcohol level is .10 or higher, your license may be suspended for seven to 12 months and you will pay significant financial penalties.
An ignition interlock device, which can be very expensive, is mandatory after your first offense with a blood alcohol level of .15, or after your second or third DWI offense. Jail time is mandatory after your third offense, with a minimum of 180 days.
An ignition interlock device, which can be very expensive, is mandatory after your first offense with a blood alcohol level of .15 or higher. Penalties for a second and third DWI offense are more severe. A second offense results in 2-year loss of driver’s license and possible jail time. A third offense results in a 10-year loss of license and mandatory 180 days in jail.
Contact the Law Offices of Robert A. Jones
To speak with me, call my Livingston, New Jersey, office at 973.852.3352 or fill out my contact form.