New Jersey is a great state for people who love to go cycling. There are plenty of areas to cycle safely away from the roads, but many cyclists take to the streets as well.
If you will be cycling through the city or your own local area, it’s important to know the laws, your rights and your responsibilities. Here are some things to know about cycling within the state.
- If you’re under 17, you have to wear a helmet
Though it’s a good idea to wear a helmet at any age, those who are 17 years of age or younger need to wear a helmet when they ride.
- Cyclists have to have audio warnings, horns or bells
Cyclists also need to have bells, horns or other kinds of audio warnings available to them to use to warn others of their presence. You should use them to let pedestrians know that you’re approaching. You can also use them to inform drivers of your location when needed.
- Cyclists can ride on the roads, but they have to be in the right place
In the majority of situations, cyclists are expected to ride as far to the right of the road as possible. If there is a bike lane, then you can use that but are not obligated to do so. Cyclists also have to ride with traffic, not against it.
- Cyclists need to have lights at night
Interestingly, New Jersey has a regulation requiring a front headlamp on a bicycle that is being used at night. That light has to emit light for at least 600 feet. A rear lamp is also required and should emit light for the same distance to the rear. The rear should also have a red lamp and reflector when possible.
- Brakes can’t be weak
Finally, the regulations of the state say that a bicycle’s brakes have to skid when used on level, dry, clean pavement. If they do not, they’re not strong enough (or perhaps are too strong) and will need to be adjusted.
These are five interesting rules and regulations for cyclists in New Jersey. Follow them to be safer whenever you’re traveling on your bicycle.